A Fragrant and Beautiful Farmer’s Market with live music at every turn. Sundays in downtown Ojai CA

From the moment I happened to spy the hand made directional sign decorated with painted flowers I knew I was on the right track for a good time.

Just a block off main street, this farmer’s market was brimming with stalls and several rows wide. There were performers of all ages filling the air with just the right amount of joyful music to make you forget you were walking it felt so much like gliding.

I met people and I also met fruit.  Many things were new to me.  Have you ever seen citrus that looks like yellow octopus?  I’m from Florida and I was caught off guard.  She gave me a taste of candied fruit and we agreed it would make a great version of limoncello.

After a sample of the goat cheese I could not leave without buying some.

There were so many happily greeting one another, children having fun.  Some watching and laughing, some being a bit naughty.

Notice all the people talking and visiting, all the signs of local grown, this is how it can be.  I encourage everyone to find your local farmers and artisans and support them.  I heard a gentleman author on CBS yesterday morning describe the difference between big business and small business…  Big business loves money, small business loves you.  Love it back.  Our small businesses need our support.

I hope these photos help you feel that you were there with me that Sunday in Ojai walking about the farmer’s market and then back through town to my bus stop.  I was a wonderful day.

DSC_0316 DSC_0322 DSC_0328 DSC_0329 DSC_0331 DSC_0332 DSC_0334 DSC_0335 DSC_0336 DSC_0337 DSC_0338 DSC_0339 DSC_0341 DSC_0343 DSC_0344 DSC_0345 DSC_0347 DSC_0349 DSC_0351 DSC_0352 DSC_0353 DSC_0354 DSC_0355 DSC_0356 DSC_0357 DSC_0358 DSC_0360 DSC_0361 DSC_0364 DSC_0365 DSC_0369 DSC_0370 DSC_0373 DSC_0374 DSC_0375

The sounds this lady is making will touch you deep inside if you stop and take notice.  wiki: The didgeridoo (/ˌdɪdʒərɪˈduː/) (also known as a didjeridu) is a wind instrument developed by Indigenous Australians of northern Australia around 1,500 years ago and still in widespread use today both in Australia and around the world. It is sometimes described as a natural wooden trumpet or "drone pipe".

The sounds this lady is making will touch you deep inside if you stop and take notice. wiki: The didgeridoo (/ˌdɪdʒərɪˈduː/) (also known as a didjeridu) is a wind instrument developed by Indigenous Australians of northern Australia around 1,500 years ago and still in widespread use today both in Australia and around the world. It is sometimes described as a natural wooden trumpet or “drone pipe”.

Leave a Reply

