“Seeing” into the future

As digital memory becomes more and more affordable we’ve seen an absolute explosion in the use of visual images and video to tell stories and share ideas.  I see this as a natural predictable technological evolution that will continue to gain strength.

The visual artists I’ve met along the way (including our own kids) will often tell how they’ve been discouraged from embracing their dreams.

Why? …  Well, who hasn’t heard the term “starving artist”?

No one wants to see someone struggle endlessly and “starve” in their quest to make a living. That’s understandable.  But I say it’s time to step back and see the opportunities that may be found by the artist through a new lens.

The world’s going online and the world’s going visual FAST!  In the simplest of terms that spells OPPORTUNITY for the artist.

Yes, they must be innovative.

Yes, they must work hard at their skills and learning how to find a marketable niche.

But now, perhaps more than ever before in the history of man, the motivated and dedicated artist can carve out a place.  Businesses need the clever and the creative to help them communicate their goods and services effectively to their audiences.  We are now competing globally and that’s a whole new ball game.

A cartoon done by my son, Tanner Effron.  It's of me as a dental hygienist and was used to help me promote my services as a professional substitute.  Personalized art work will have an increasingly important place in the business world in the future. This is just my opinIon but I believe I'm right.  As businesses try to stand out on the highly visually oriented platform of the internet they will put more and more energy and resources into it is my prediction.

A cartoon done by my son, Tanner Effron. It’s of me as a dental hygienist and was used to help me promote my services as a professional substitute. Personalized art work will have an increasingly important place in the business world in the future. This is just my opinIon but I believe I’m right. As businesses try to stand out on the highly visually oriented platform of the internet they will put more and more energy and resources into it is my prediction.

So if you have a budding artist in your midst, maybe you want to consider not just encouraging them with finger paint when they are little but continue to support and nurture where their heart leads them.

I believe creativity lives within us all and we are making the world a better and more beautiful place when we embrace and encourage it.

for a practical example to prove my point check out this “visual” version of a resume- the early bird gets the worm- the clever artist gets the job hahah

you can commission my son Tanner to do a cartoon for you or your business at :

https://www.facebook.com/tannereffronart

Leave a Reply

